Press "Enter" to skip to content

ICC Cricket World Cup 2023: Complete Details Explained

The 13th ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup is scheduled to occur in India from October 5 to November 19, 2023. Since 1975, the one-day international (ODI) cricket competition has taken place every four years. At Ahmedabad’s 132,000-seat Narendra Modi Stadium, New Zealand will play host to reigning champions England in the first game. Here is all the information you need to know about the 46-day World Cup 2023:

Where are the venues of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 to be played?

ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 Venue and fixtures

In total, 48 games will be contested throughout 10 Indian cities. Except for the Rajiv Gandhi International venue in Hyderabad, which will only hold three games, each venue will host five games.

With a capacity for 132,000 spectators, Ahmedabad’s Narendra Modi Arena (formerly known as Motera Stadium) is the largest cricket arena in the world. On November 19, it will host both the championship game and the first game. The two semifinal matches will take place in Kolkata’s Eden Gardens and Mumbai’s Wankhede Stadium. Hyderabad, Dharamsala, New Delhi, Chennai, Lucknow, Pune, and Bengaluru are also some other host cities.

Which teams have earned their spot?

ICC Reveals Huge Prize Money for ODI World Cup Winners

The event will include ten teams:

  • Best CWC result for Afghanistan: Group stage
  • Best CWC performance for Australia: victories (1987, 1999, 2003, 2007, 2015)
  • The greatest CWC result for Bangladesh was in the quarterfinals.
  • The greatest CWC result for England was victory in 2019
  • India has won the CWC twice (1983, 2011).
  • Best CWC result for the Netherlands: Group stage
  • Best CWC result for New Zealand: runners-up in 2015 and 2019.
  • The greatest CWC result for Pakistan was winning (1992).
  • The best CWC result for South Africa was semifinalists.
  • Sri Lanka’s finest CWC performance was winning in 1996.

ODI rankings are used to determine World Cup qualifying. This year’s qualification procedure, however, comprised a number of games that were played between 2020 and 2023. The West Indies, who won the event in 1975 and 1979, are noticeably absent from the field for the first time in the competition’s history after falling to Scotland in an indeed crucial qualification match. The Netherlands beat off Scotland to earn the last qualifying berth, making their tournament comeback their first since 2011.

Who were the previous ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 champions?

ICC CWC winner

West Indies won the first Cricket World Cup, which was held in England in 1975.

Four years later, in 1979, the Caribbean team successfully defended, but in the third iteration of the games, in 1983, they were defeated by India.

Australia has emerged as the World Cup’s most successful team, winning indeed five of the 12 competitions.

While Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and England have each won the World Cup once, India and the West Indies each have two championships.

The 2019 final was played in London, and England defeated New Zealand to win their title.

How much is the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 prize money?

ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 prize money

The prize money for the competition has been set aside at $10 million, the same amount as in 2019. This was revealed by the International Cricket Council (ICC). The winning team will get $4 million, and the runner-up team will get $2 million. Each of the other two semifinalists will get $800,000. Each of the remaining six teams will also get $100,000 for taking part in the competition. The victors of each game during the group stage will get an extra $40,000 in prize money.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *