Press "Enter" to skip to content

National Film Awards 2023: The Complete List

The judges held a news conference at the National Media Centre in Delhi on Thursday to reveal the winners of the 69th National Film Awards. The Press Information Bureau’s Facebook and YouTube platforms livestreamed the prize announcement. Anurag Thakur, the Union I&B Minister, received the list of winners for the feature, non-feature, and best writing categories from the National Film Awards jury members. In total, 280 films in 28 different languages were submitted for the 2021 awards. There are 24 non-feature film categories, 31 for features, and 3 for screenplays about films.

Feature Film Category Winners of National Film Awards 2023

Best Mishing Film- Boomba Ride

Best Assamese Film- Anur

The Best Bengali Film- Kalkkoho

Best Hindi Film- Sardar Udham

Best Kannada Film- 777 Charlie

The Best Gujarati Film- Chello Show

Best Maithili Film- Samanantar

Best Marathi Film- Ekda Kay Zala

The Best Malayalam Film- Home

Special Jury Award- Shershaah

Best Child Artist- Bhavin Rabari, Chhello Show

Indira Gandhi Award for Best Debut Film of a Director- Meppadiyan, Vishnu Mohan

Best Film on Social Issues- Anunaad-The Resonance

Best Film on Environment Conservation/Preservation- Aavasavyuham

The Best Children’s Film- Gandhi and Co

Best Screenplay (Original)- Shahi Kabir, Nayattu

Best Screenplay (Adapted)- Sanjay Leela Bhansali & Utkarshini Vashishtha, Gangubai Kathiawadi

The Best Dialogue Writer- Utkarshini Vashishtha & Prakash Kapadia, Gangubai Kathiawadi

Best Music Director (Songs)- Devi Sri Prasad, Pushpa

National Film Awards 2023: The Complete List

Best Music Direction (Background Music)- MM Keeravaani, RRR

The Best Editing- Sanjay Leela Bhansali for Gangubai Kathiawadi

Best Supporting Actress- Pallavi Joshi for The Kashmir Files

Best Supporting Actor- Pankaj Tripathi for Mimi

The Best Actress- Alia Bhatt for Gangubai Kathiawadi, Kriti Sanon for Mimi

Best Actor – Allu Arjun for Pushpa: The Rise

Best Film on National Integration- The Kashmir Files

The Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment – RRR

Best Feature Film – Rocketry: The Nambi Effect

Non-Feature Films Category Winners of National Film Awards 2023

Charlie 777 National Film Awards

Special mention:

  • Baale Bangara (Aniruddha Jatkar)
  • Karuvarai (Srikanth Deva)
  • The Healing Touch (Sweta Kumar Das)
  • Ek Duaa (Ram Kamal Mukherjee)

The Best Narration/Voice-over – Kulada Kumar Bhattacharjee (HatiBondhu)

Best Music Direction – Ishaan Divecha (Succulent)

Best Editing – Abhro Banerjee (If Memory Serves Me Right)

The Best Production Sound Recordist (Location/Sync Sound) – Suruchi Sharma (Meen Raag)

Best Audiography (Re-recordist) – Unni Krishnan (Ek Tha Gaon)

Best Cinematography – Bittu Rawat (Paatal-Tee)

The Best Direction – Bakul Matiyani (Smile Please)

Best Film On Family Values – Chand Saanse

Best Short Fiction Film – Daal Bhat (Gujarati)

Special Jury – Rekha (Marathi Film)

The Best Animation Film – Kandittundu (Malayalam)

Best Investigative Film – Looking For Challan (English)

Best Exploration/Adventurous Film – Ayushman (English, Kannada)

The Best Educational Film – Sirpigalin Sirpangal (Tamil)

Best Film On Social Issues – Mithu Di (Marathi) and Three Two One (Marathi & Hindi)

Best Environmental Film – Munnam Valavu (Malayalam)

The Best Promotional Film – Endangered Heritage ‘Warli Art’

Best Science and Technology Film – Ethos Of Darkness

Best Arts/Cultural Film – T.N. Krishnan Bow Strings To Divine

Best Writing on Cinema

The Best Book on Cinema: Music by Laxmikant Pyarelal: The Incredibly Melodious Journey by Rajiv Vijayakar

Best Film Critic: Purushothama Charyulu

Best Film Critic (Special Mention): Subramanya Bandoor

Shared Gestures

National Film Awards 2023

After their films took home major prizes at the 69th National Film Awards on Thursday, “Sardar Udham” director Shoojit Sircar, “Gangubai Kathiawadi” director Sanjay Leela Bhansali, “Mimi” actor Kriti Sanon, and “Gangubai Kathiawadi” star Alia Bhatt all expressed their joy.

The best actress prize for “Mimi” and “Gangubai Kathiawadi,” respectively, was split between Bhatt and Sanon. Bhatt commended her victory to Bhansali, the cast and crew of the movie, as well as her family, her team, and the public.

Since none of this would be possible without you ALL, this national honor is yours. I am SO appreciative. Moments like this are not ones I take lightly. As long as I can, I intend to keep entertaining. In her Instagram post, she stated, “Love and light.

Previous Winners

National Film Awards

Ajay Devgn and Suriya won the Best Actor prize at the 68th National Film Awards the previous year for their roles in Tanhaji: The Unsung Warrior and Soororai Pottru, respectively. Aparna Balamurali, Suriya’s co-star, has also won Best Actress. Also winning the National Award for Best Feature Film was Soororai Poottru.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *